Message sent from:

Meet our governors

The Local Governing Body takes a strategic role, as a critical friend to the school and to be accountable for its decisions. It works with the Headteacher to set aims and objectives for the school, and agree, monitor and review policies, targets and priorities.The whole governing body is made up of governors appointed by the Trust, parents and staff. It meets nine times a year with the different committees usually meeting once a term, with the exception of the hearings, appeals and pupil discipline committees which meet only as required.

All governors may be contacted at Freeman Community Primary School by letter or telephone, on 01449 612067. The Chair of Governors, Mrs Susan Hayter, is also our Designated Governor for Safeguarding and can be contacted on 01449 613710.  Carry on reading below to learn more about our governors at Freeman Commuity Primary School.

Susan Hayter - Chair and Trust Governor 
With a background in nursing, Sue retired from full time work as the Chief Nurse in Suffolk in 2010 and since then has been a Non-Executive Director on  NHS Boards. Living in the village for over 40 years, Sue's children and grandchildren attended Freeman CP School and she is a Church Warden for Stowupland Holy Trinity, and welcomes the school’s links with Holy Trinity Church. 
Start date: May 2020 (3rd term)  End of term: May 2024

Daniel Pettitt - Headteacher   
Start date: Jan 2014     End of term: on-going

Anita Chapple - Parent Governor   
Start date: May 2020     End of term: May 2024

Helen Symons - Trust Governor
A community governor at Freeman CP School since 2021, having attended the school herself over 25 years ago, Helen is part of the Learning and Achievement sub committee. Teaching Science in Secondary Schools for over 10 years, Helen nows work in a school as a Teaching and Learning Coach, mentoring and developing staff across the school.  Helen lives in Stowupland and can often be seen running her two spaniels around the village!
Start date: June 2021     End of term: June 2025 

Emma Grocott - Parent Governor
Emma has been a governor at Freeman CP School since September 2015 and is currently Chair of the Learning and Achievement committee.  She has four children, three of which have attended or are currently at Freeman. A primary school teacher for the past 18 years, Emma currently works part time in a local Stowmarket school.  Working in education, she has always had an interest in the development of children and the education that is offered to them.  Helen became a governor with the hope that she can bring a dual perspective to the governing body; being a parent whilst also being knowledgeable about the education system.  
Start date: Nov 2022    End of term: Nov 2026

Rosie Hancock - Trust Governor
Rosie Hancock is a qualified as a Chartered Physiotherapist, working in a senior management role as the Clinical Governance and Operational lead for a Private Occupational Health Physiotherapy company. In addition to this she continues to work clinically as an Advanced Specialist Physiotherapist in a local Private Physiotherapy clinic and also as a bank Orthopaedic in-patient’ clinician.  Rosie has always had an interest in education, previously working full-time as a Physiotherapy Lecturer/Clinical Placement lead.  She also has two children at Freeman CP School, currently in Reception and Year 2.
Start date: April 2022      End of term: April 2026

Aisleen Bird - Trust Governor
Aisleen has been a community governor since June 2022 and is also a member of the Personnel and Communications committee. She lives in Stowupland with her husband, two young girls, dog and cat, ‘Maverick’, who is a frequent visitor to the playground at Freeman, much to the delight of the children. Aisleen became a governor in order to learn more about the education system and how she, along with like-minded others, can support the school in providing a safe and caring environment within which children can reach their full potential.  As Head of Marketing at an HR digital transformation consultancy, she also hopes to use her knowledge of people-centric processes and systems to support the school in developing its teaching and support staff, as well as engaging effectively with parents and the wider school community.
Start date: June 2022     End of term: June 2026

Roberta Mason - Parent Governor
Roberta has recently joined the Board as a Parent Governor. She had 10 years experience as a Health and Safety professional before moving on to work for West Suffolk Council where she regulates businesses with environmental permits. She has two children currently attending Freeman CP School, in Reception and Year 2 and hopes to use her time on the board learning about governance and education so that she can support and challenge the school to further benefit its pupils. Roberta has a particular interest in SEN and hopes to explore this further as she gains experience in her role as Parent Governor.
Start date: November 2022     End of term: November 2026

Emma Gerry - Staff Governor
Emma is the Deputy Headteacher at Freeman CP School as well as being the Year 3 Teacher and Staff Governor. She has been teaching 15 years and has experience of teaching all year groups in the Primary School age range in addition to experience leading a number of subjects. Emma represents the school at Learning and Achievement Committee meetings.  Emma has two children, one of which is currently in the Reception class at Freeman.
Start date: September 2020    End of term: September 2024

Alex Houghton - Trust Governor

Start date: July 2023      End of term: July 2027

Nicola Everitt - Parent Governor

Start date: July 2023      End of term: July 2027

Details of Local Governing Boards' Terms of Reference and CET's Scheme of Delegation can be found using the link below. 

Terms of Reference - CHILDREN'S ENDEAVOUR TRUST (childrensendeavourtrust.org.uk)
All governors serve on the sub-committees.

Hit enter to search