Message sent from:


The Governing Body
The Local Governing Body takes a strategic role, as a critical friend to the school and to be accountable for its decisions. It works with the Headteacher to set aims and objectives for the school, and agree, monitor and review policies, targets and priorities.

The whole governing body is made up of governors appointed by the Trust, parents and staff. It meets 9 times a year with the different committees usually meeting once a term, with the exception of the hearings, appeals and pupil discipline committees which meet only as required.

Governors' Term of Office 2020-21

 Name  Governor  Start Date  End of Term
Susan Hayter (Chair) Trust May 2020 (3rd term) May 2024
Kate Rosten (Vice Chair) Parent November 2017 (2nd term) November 2020
Daniel Pettitt Headteacher January 2014  
Joanne Moss Trust May 2020 (2nd term) May 2024
Anita Chapple Trust May 2020 May 2024
Helen Symons Trust May 2021  May 2025
Emma Grocott Parent September 2018 August 2021
Megan Clifford Parent March 2021 March 2025
Vacancy  Trust - see below    
Alanna Oxley Staff October 2018 October 2021
Tammy Patel Associate members September 2014  
Emma Gerry  Associate members September 2014  

Pecuniary interests have been declared by all governor and can be seen in the attachment at the bottom of the page.
No relationship to any member of staff have been declared by any governor.
One Member of the governing body has Committee member interests in the Mighty Oaks Pre-School.

All governors serve on the sub-committees.

Governor Body sub-committees and a brief view of their functions:

Personnel and Communication Committee: Reviews the staffing structure and produces questionnaires for parents, staff and pupils – Joanne Moss (C), Susan Hayter, Emma Grocott and Daniel Pettitt.

Finance and Premises Committee: Drafts the formal budget plan and establishes and maintains an up-to-date 3 year financial plan, advise the Governing Body on priorities, including Health and Safety and oversees arrangements for maintenanace, repairs and building works – Kate Rosten (C), Susan Hayter, Megan Clifford, Daniel Pettitt and Tammy Patel.

Learning and Achievement Committee: Considers and advises the governing body on standards and other matters relating to the school’s curriculum and monitors the impact of pupil premium funding – Emma Grocott (C), Helen Symons, Daniel Pettitt, Anita Chapple, Joanne Moss and Emma Gerry.

Headteacher’s Performance Review: Meets annually with the External Adviser to discuss the Headteacher’s performance targets – Joanne Moss (C) and Hannah Bloom.

Hearings Committee: Makes a determination to dismiss a member of staff – TBC (C), Kate Rosten and TBC.

Appeals Committee: Considers any appeal against a decision to dismiss a member of staff – Emma Grocott (C), Joanne Moss and Vacancy.

Pupil Discipline Committee: Considers the representations from parents in the case of pupil exclusion – Joanne Moss (C), Susan Hayter and Anita Chapple.

Some governors also have a responsibility for a specific area:

Safeguarding – Susan Hayter
Looked After Children/Special Educational Needs – Joanne Moss
Link governor – Susan Hayter
Early Years – Reception Class Governor
Health and Safety – Kate Rosten
SRE governor - Emma Grocott

Year group governors within the school (TBC);

Reception - Susan Hayter
Year 1 - Kate Rosten
Year 2 - Anita Chapple
Year 3 - Joanne Moss
Year 4 - Megan Clifford
Year 5 - Emma Grocott
Year 6 - Helen Symons

Freeman Community Primary School Governor Vacancies

Did you know that you don’t have to be a parent or member of staff to be a school governor?

School governors are also drawn from the local community and come from all walks of life.  Freeman Community Primary School is looking for a Trust and a Parent Governor from the local community to join our governing body. The successful people should may have no existing ties to the school. If you have an interest in education and can commit to one evening (Thursday) six times a year and occasional visits during the school day, we’d be very pleased to hear from you to discuss the role of a governor further.

No prior knowledge is necessary; a comprehensive range of training and support is provided. It’s an exciting opportunity for you to:

  • acquire new skills;
  • participate in teamwork;
  • contribute to the community;
  • make a difference to children’s lives.

You can visit the Suffolk County Council web site for more information about being a governor:  https://www.suffolk.gov.uk/children-families-and-learning/schools/govern-suffolk/

For an informal chat and an application form please contact:

Sue Hayter - Chair of Governors
Tel: 01449 613710
Daniel Pettitt- Headteacher
Tel: 01449 612067

Completed forms should be submitted to:

Sue Hayter
Freeman Community Primary School
Church Road
IP14 4BQ

Freeman CP School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment.

All Governors may be contacted at Freeman Community Primary School by letter or telephone, on 01449 612067. The Chair of Governors, Mrs Susan Hayter, is also our Designated Governor for Safeguarding and can be contacted on 01449 613710.

Hit enter to search